Male Restroom Etiquette

Let me share something really amusing that it had be in stitches the whole time I was watching it. It couldn’t quite get a grip of myself and I had a hard time trying to calm myself down afterward. I stumbled upon this hilarious video when I was hyperlinking my way through that wonderful messy quagmire known as Wikipedia.

I was trudging though articles on morality, ethics, etiquette when I  somehow ended up clicking a link on Male Restroom Etiquette (which piqued my interest a lot). I expected to find an anachronistic set of rules made by some noble Englishman in the 1800s. I couldn’t possibly be more wrong (what a relief). I don’t know about the girls, but I’m sure guys using public urinals  all over the world would understand this one pretty well.

Male Restroom Etiquette is a 2006 American short subject created by Phil Rice and produced by his company Zarathustra Studios. The film is a mockumentary about unwritten rules of behavior in male restrooms and is intended to be a parody of educational and social guidance films. Narrated by Rice, Male Restroom Etiquette states restroom customs to be followed and depicts a scenario of social chaos if they are violated. The film was made using the machinima technique of recording video footage from computer games, namely The Sims 2 and SimCity 4. Male Restroom Etiquette won multiple awards and was listed by Guinness World Records Gamer’s Edition in 2009 as the most popular Sims video uploaded to YouTube.

The narrator (Phil Rice) states that increased cultural diversity has necessitated the exposition of previously unwritten rules regarding the use of male restrooms. According to these rules, males should use restrooms as quickly as possible, maximize physical separation from each other when using urinals, flush urinals when they contain concentrated urine, avoid stalls with unflushed toilets, and avoid eye contact and communication with others. The film depicts a scenario in which excess communication leads to a mess in the restroom and thus deficient hygiene and homeostasis, the latter of which is in the lowest tier in Maslow’s hierarchy of needs. As the scenario continues, the restroom occupants turn to violence, leading to police and biological hazard team involvement that closes the restroom. Forced to go elsewhere, other men repeat the scenario, eventually leading to complete societal breakdown.

~ by Kevin on March 27, 2009.

5 Responses to “Male Restroom Etiquette”

  1. HI Kevin! thanks for dropping by in my blog.. sure we can xlinks. just let me know if u’re done adding me in ur links then ill add u up.. oks?.. happy weekend 🙂

  2. This is funny. I will remember these rules when constructing the Sims’ male rest room. I have always installed stalls so I’ve never thought of it this way.

  3. LOL. funny. Btw, the writer of this piece seemed to have an “unwanted sexual encounter” in the restroom due to a certain conversation. It’s so bugging him he’s thinking it’s now causing the Collapse of civilization..

  4. Hey now! It’s fictional, I swear. 🙂 Thanks for the mention, Kevin.

  5. Wow! It really is Phil Rice! Thanks Phil, I really love your work. I’ve been to your site and it was really cool especially the Tilt-shifting clip with the oil rig and the helicopter. Keep up the nice machinima works!

Leave a Reply

 
