Confessions of a Bibliophile

I’m an unabashed book lover. I think I spent most of my waking time burying my nose in bunches of pages (I have a veritable library at home). Books from every genre literally litter the house and my tiny bookshelf is overflowing that I had to resort to boxes to keep things a bit civilized.

Since I moved out on my own I’ve been trying to buy books  whenever I can (and to start over with another bookshelf-on-steroids), but my meager budget and the otherworldly prices of the books I covet really put a damper on things.  Nevertheless I somehow managed to scrape some extra cash and I  became really adept at finding good books at bargain price so I currently have a mishmash of literary  masterpieces.

I stacked my newer treasures vertically on my table and one quick glance  reveals the hierarchy – the topmost books get read a lot (worn out and  sometimes even dog-eared), and  the bottom dwellers are the biggest, heaviest hardcovers which scarcely see the light of day on their pages (and managed to appear  pristine too). One perk of stacking books this way, instead of the usual library shelf style is that my neck doesn’t hurt – no more craning the neck to read the titles and authors. But it sure makes getting books on the bottom of the pile a real hassle.

Here are the titles on the spines, arranged from top to bottom of the pile:

Long Walk to Freedom – The Autobiography of Nelson Mandela

The Stem Cell Divide by Michael Bellomo

The Valkyries by Paulo Coelho

The Devil and Miss Prym by Paulo Coelho

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

The Silmarillion by JRR Tolkien (my all-time favorite)

Unfinished Tales by JRR Tolkien (second all-time favorite)

The Pleasure of My Company by Steve Martin

The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

The Palace Thief by Ethan Canin

Brave Men, Gentle Heroes – American Fathers and Sons in WorldWar II and Vietnam

Reagan’s America – Innocents at Home

John F. Kerry – The Complete Biography

Just Ballin’ – The Chaotic Rise of the New York Knicks

Sports in Contemporary History – An Anthology

Dangerous Destinations – The Essential Guide to the World’s Trouble  Spots

Tour of Duty – John Kerry and the Vietnam War

Swoosh – The Story of Nike and the Men Who Played There

aol.com – How Steve Case Beat Bill Gates, Nailed the Netheads and Made Millions in the War for the Web

Trust No One – The Official Third Season Guide to the X-files

Abduction – Human Encounters with Aliens

Gai-jin by James Clavell

Bob Dole – One Soldier’s Story

The Oracle – The Lost Secrets and Hidden Message of Ancient Delphi

Data and Computer Communications Seventh Edition

Turbo C/C++ The Complete Reference Second Edition

Modern Industrial Electronics Fourth Edition

Linear Control System Analysis and Design Conventional and Modern Fourth Edition

Low-cost Microcontroller-based Power Monitoring System using PIC16F877 by Roel Pantonial, Philipjones Villegas and Kevin Avila (surprise surprise this is me)

I realize I bought quite a lot – except for the two Tolkien books (which I’ve had for years), I’ve bought most of these in the past year or so. I’m thinking of buying  a bookcase one of these days since the table can barely be used for anything else with the computer and all. And for those countless bastards people who borrowed my books and conveniently forgot to return them my haunting spectre will trouble you till the end of your miserable days. Long live the bookworms!

~ by Kevin on March 19, 2009.

7 Responses to “Confessions of a Bibliophile”

  1. […] Foolish Ranting of a Deluded Soul placed an observative post today on Confessions of a BibliophileHere’s a quick excerptI’m an unabashed book lover . I think I spent most of my waking time burying my nose in bunches of pages (I have a veritable library at home). Books from every genre literally litter the house and my tiny bookshelf is overflowing that I had to resort to boxes to keep things a bit civilized. Since I moved out on my own I’ve been trying to buy books  whenever I can (and to start over with another bookshelf on steroids), but my meager budget and the otherworldy prices of the books I covet really […]

  2. dude! haha. i was so frickin busy with work so i haven’t got much time to even text or whatever. anyways, i’m working on micromachine products right now, specifically accelerometers these are the ones used by nintendo wii. we have issues and stuff and i’m frickin psyched about how intricate the design and the concept for this whole shit is. anyways, speaking of books, there was like a sale at national bookstore last week. you lent me sun tzu’s art of war right? i found a book called “the real art of war” ahah it was mad funny. all it did was negate tzu’s art of war it was hillarious. anyways, i haven’t bought it coz i couldn’t find it at nat’l the following day when i decided to really buy it. i actually read most part of the book while standing there pretending to just skim it. haha. i don’t buy books much, not even now that i’m earning. so how u been????

  3. I added you to my blog list already! Wow a fellow bookworm. You have the books I have been meaning to buy (e.g. Silmarillion and Unfinished Tales). And seeing you know the elven name of Rivendell…you’re a LOTR fan. Aaargh. Pleasure meeting you on blogosphere. So anyway, I love you’re write ups so I guess I’d visit you’re site often.

    Btw, Kevin? You know shlat? Co-author of ‘Inside My Neurons’?

  4. hey! here’s the only way i could reply to your message your in my shoutbox..

    linked u already..

    http://kielai.co.cc

  5. hey! here’s the only way i could reply to your message in my shoutbox..

    linked u already..

    http://kielai.co.cc

  6. Memorized it’s history? Are you freaking obsesseed. haha. Well, LOTR’s addictive. In high school, I zone out in class doodling their names in my notebook. Wait. All of my notebooks had LOTR characters on the cover (from the movie). The movie’s quite okay. They did a more decent film adaptation compared to HP installments.

  7. Just added you.

Leave a Reply

 
